1- Definition: 
The most famous Agile framework that helps people, teams and organizations generate value through adaptive solutions for complex problems.

2- The theory of empiricism
The Scrum Guide states that: “Scrum is founded on the theory of empirical process control, or empiricism. Empiricism asserts that knowledge comes from experience and decision-making is based on known facts. Scrum uses an iterative and progressive approach to optimize predictability and risk control. "

3- The 3 pillars:

  • Transparency
  • Inspection
  • Adaptation

They allow:
• Make empiricism emerge on a lasting basis.
• Constantly improve quality.
• Offer a real and objective view of what is happening.
• Give each participant a global vision of what they are helping to achieve.
• Involve the teams in the choices structuring their activity.
• Give meaning to the work done, thus increasing intrinsic motivation.
• All this without having to "police" each individual.

4- The 5 values:
"When the values ​​of commitment, courage, focus, openness and respect are embodied and lived by the Scrum team, the Scrum pillars of transparency, inspection and adaptation come to life and build trust between everyone. 
Members of the Scrum Team learn and explore these values ​​as they work with Scrum events, roles, and artifacts.
Guide Scrum 2017

5- The 3 roles:

The term “Scrum Team” refers to all the project team members: everyone internal to the project. 

Scrum Team members usually have only one of the three standard roles of Scrum: 

  • Product Owner
  • Scrum Master
  • Development Team

6- The 5 events:

The nature of Scrum events :


There are five events in a Scrum project: 
1. Sprint:
2. Sprint Planning: 
3. Daily Scrum: 
4. Sprint Review: 
5. Sprint Retrospective: 

The four events inside the Sprint are designed to enable critical transparency, inspection, regularity, and adaptation. 

7- The 3 artifacts:
An artifact is a human-made item with unique properties. 

There are three artifacts in Scrum:
1. Product Backlog: 
2. Sprint Backlog: 
3. Increment: 

8- The 3 Professional Scrum Master (PSM) certifications:

The three exams ... 

  • Professional Scrum Master I (PSM I),
  • Professional Scrum Master II (PSM II) 
  • Professional Scrum Master III (PSM III)

... respectively attesting to a fundamental, advanced or expert level. 

There are two main training organizations delivering a certificate with international recognition:
• Scrum.org
• Scrumalliance.org

This book aims to prepare you for the PSM I and PSM II certification exams of Scrum.org