An artifact is a human-made item with unique properties. 

There are three artifacts in Scrum:

1- Product Backlog: An ordered list of everything that might be needed in the final product

2- Sprint Backlog: Selected items from the Product Backlog to be delivered through a Sprint, along with the tasks for delivering the items and realizing the Sprint Goal

3- Increment: The set of all the Product Backlog items completed so far in the project (up to the end of a certain Sprint)

Each contains a commitment to ensure it provides information that enhances transparency and focus against which progress
can be measured:

  • For the Product Backlog, it's the Product Goal;
  • For the Sprint Backlog, it's the Sprint Goal;
  • For the Increment, it's the Definition of Done.